Looking for a citation? This is the place to start!
Last Updated: Dec 28, 2012
National Library of Medicine.
NLM's interface to MEDLINE, the premiere database of the health sciences. Includes abstracts and extensive links to the full-text in the Library's collections. Good coverage of ophthalmology, but does not completely cover optometric topics.
- PubMed Online Training
Provides a general tutorial on PubMed, plus brief instructional videos on searching PubMed and using My NCBI and the MeSH Database.
Compiled by Illinois College of Optometry Library, VisionCite is a citation index to the vision science literature including topics such as contact lenses, optometry, and practice management, in addition to the treatment and management of eye disease. VisionCite contains citations to over 175,000 articles.
- VisionCite Help
Provides assistance in searching VisionCite effectively.
- Cochrane Library
A source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Provides access to: the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluations Database.
- Cochrane Library Quick Reference Guide
Provides information on what the Cochrane Library is, and how to use it effectively.
Offers indexing for 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including many optics and physics titles. Permits citing and cited-by searches, and citation tracking.
- Scopus Help
Provides assistance in conducting a basic search, plus an interactive tutorial.