This is the "Library Tour" page of the "Using the NECO Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using the NECO Library   Tags: copyright, interlibrary loan, laptop, mobile, printing, reserves, tutorial, wireless  

Find out more about the resources available to you via the NECO Library.
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://neco.libguides.com/usingthelibrary Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Tour Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tour of the NECO Library Physical Space

Circulation Desk
The desk offers checkout and renewal of library materials, course reserve items, and laptops.  Reserve materials include photocopies, books, slides, videos, and other class related equipment, such as BIOs and skulls.  Help is always available from the Library staff and student aides at the circulation desk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marco Center for Instructional Technology
This is the Library's dedicated computer lab. Available for student use are eleven PCs, two duplex printers, and a video projection system.  All PCs provide access to the Internet, the Library's electronic resources (online catalog, databases, eJournals) and Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint). They are also equipped with CD/DVD drives that can play both CDs and DVDs, as well as copy CDs. One workstation also includes a scanner, zip drive, and Adobe Photoshop image editing software.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reading Room
This is a large study area where soft talk and discussion are allowed. Current issues of journals for which the Library has current subscriptions (in optometry, ophthalmology, medicine and science) are displayed on the walls. There is also a section of leisure reading materials, which can be checked out of the library for the day (please ask at the circulation desk).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reference Area
This section houses the Library's reference collection, including vision science dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias and atlases. Four workstations provide access to the Internet, the Library's electronic resources (online catalog, databases, eJournals), and Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stacks Room
The Library's collection of circulating books (organized by call number) and bound journals (organized alphabetically by title) can be found in the stacks room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Glass Study Rooms
There are two of these rooms available for quiet study on a first-come first-served basis. Study Room B can be reserved in advance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Copy Room
This room houses three photocopiers: two for public copying ($.05 per copy) and one for faculty/staff use (access code can be obtained at the circulation desk). There is also a duplex printer that can be accessed from all computer workstations in the library, a paper recycling bin, and various office supplies: stapler, staple remover, scotch tape dispenser, 3-hole punch, electric pencil sharpener and paper cutter. Paper refills and other assistance can be obtained at the circulation desk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Historical Collections/Soltes Room
On the second floor of the Library, the Soltes Room houses the Library's special collection of archived books, college yearbooks and theses. This room also has one large table for group quiet study, and can be reserved in advance. The quiet study room has four tables. This upstairs area also includes televisions with VCRs and headphones for viewing videotapes, and two slide carousels.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Educational Media Office
The media office offers assistance in designing and producing graphics, images, slides, publications, and instructional materials. It also facilitates the in-house printing of scientific posters. Contact Media Coordinator Marek Jacisin directly at (617) 587-5654 or jacisinm@neco.edu.

For more photos of the NECO Library, please visit our Facebook page.

Need Help? Contact us!

Profile Image
NECO Library Staff
Contact Info
library@neco.edu
Send Email
 
Library Home | College Home | NECOnline | Gmail

©2014, New England College of Optometry

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip